My Graphical Comedy of Errors

alternate cover 2I ‘ve been having a little bit of an issue with getting the book cover for my latest project in order. As I started preparations for a guest post and author interview I was scheduled for later this month (details to follow) I suddenly realised that oops, no cover …….none at all.

Let me explain…

Fiery gemstones is a Heston Witch Novella(YA Series) and if you haven’t been introduced to the clan, do take a peek at the short story on Writing Shorts (http://wp.me/P2mNT1-U). Edna was the one who introduced me to the family so to speak. It wasn’t the next up on my list of projects seeing as I have three other Works in Progress that are, well still in progress, but when the Hestons became the last thought I
have at night and the first thought in the morning, I realised that I’d get no
peace till it was done. Tentatively, the release date is  set for November but hmm, well, let’s just say we’ll see.

I had a picture in my head about what I wanted but after browsing images for about five hours looking for the miracle of having my mental image expressed visually
online, I finally threw in the towel and went back to the basics. Settled on some stock images from iStock_photos.com- their collection is pretty awesome.

Maybe I’ll get the award winning cover photo for my next book but I won’t hold my breath.Anyway, with a little imput from my favorite Graphics Assistant, I came up with two tentative covers. They’re my first pick but nothing is set in stone.

Thought I’d share so here they are in all their generic and boring glory. If you can spare the time , do tell me what you think either here or on twitter (@CassandraDeBrow). If it provokes a “What the hell is she thinking response,” please do tell me in a hurry so necesary changes can be made.LOL! I’m adaptible ;).

Fiery gemstones?

Meanwhile, the Heston clan are being their usual pushy selves, encroaching on my personal time and throwing me curve balls that make me say ooh while cooking or in the bathroom. Wish I could get used to them but for now I will settle for getting all they have to say down in a readable format. I am enjoying the ride… hope you’ll love the finished product as much as I already do.

This so was not how I imagined spending my Sunday when I got up this morning.

Much Love People, much Love,Cassandra DeBrown.

Leave a Reply

